Armature

The other day I learned a new word: armature!  Armature is the technical term for whatever is inside a doll or sculpture that allows it to be posed, which I have been referring to as a framework or skeleton.

image

I make my armature from 18 gauge silver aluminium wire, but would like something to give a little more definition to elbow and knee joints, as I’d like to be able to pose and un-pose the dolls workout worrying about kinks in the wire.

image

image

I did a little research with my newfound knowledge and came up with the idea of threading the wire through some kind of tubing so that it only bends at the doll’s joints. Does that make sense? I was hoping I could find some plastic armature that was small enough for my dolls but I don’t think that’s going to be possible; it seems to mostly be used for 20″ dolls and larger. Anyway, I shall continue to experiment, and hopefully soon I’ll be able to share what I’ve learned!

Until next time, C.

Leave a Reply

