Gwen – hair!

image

I love giving my dolls hair. It’s probably my favorite part of the process.

image

Gwen’s hair is mostly dark brown, with a few slightly lighter shades mixed in for highlights. I started by giving her a full head of hair with a centre part and a nice soft hairline around her face. Then I began to style it, using the same method as for Esmerelda: twisting wet sections of hair into little coiled knots and leaving them to dry. (Of course, I don’t like waiting during this stage so I’ve discovered that if I wrap a handkerchief over the doll’s head I can blast it with my hairdryer which is what I did here. )

image

image

image

image

The curls were really springy this time – Esmerelda’s hair had hairspray in it, but Gwen’s didn’t, and the difference was amazing. It was all little bouncy ringlets when I was taking it out!

image

image

I pulled the front sections of Gwen’s hair back and tied it up, then gave it a trim and a little hairspray.

image

It’s lost some of its curl as I’ve fiddled with it, but that’s okay. I can re-curl the end sections when I’ve finished with her cloak and her dress.

Until next time, C.

Leave a Reply

